Home

Cornbread

Um. Yum. I don’t know if the food-tography above captures the deliciousness that was this dish. The (partial) recipe for tonight’s Tex Mex shepherd’s pie with jalapeno cornbread comes to us courtesy of my friend Margaret’s recommendation via Melinda Cooks via Happy Herbivore. Okay, okay, it’s complicated but the recipe that I followed is available here. Note that the cornbread recipe seems to be missing from the post so I just went the old trusty route of adding dry ingredients together in one bowl, blending the wet ingredients and then somewhat slowly mixing them together before spooning into a muffin tin.

One small alteration on the shepherd’s pie:I blended sweet potatoes with Yukon potatoes since I only had four sweet potatoes from my The Farm Table delivery this week and am planning on sweet potato enchiladas later in the week. It provided a nice, balanced sweetness rather than an overwhelming sweetness to the potato topping.

The Verdict: This is most definitely a repeatable kitchen triumph, especially since I’m not always into those fancy, new fangled fusion dishes so its deliciousness was somewhat surprising. I guess you can’t really go wrong with spicy corn and black beans, potatoes and Earth Balance-slathered corn bread. My husband seemed to agree as he plans to take some of the leftovers–the final product is probably about 6-8 servings, I’d say–for lunch tomorrow.

On a side note, can I just say that I’m still EXTREMELY EXCITED (and surprised) that I’ve been vegan for two months and one day now and am not missing the cheese at all. If anything, I think the food tastes better because you can actually taste vegetables rather than just cheese on vegetables. Of course products like Earth Balance help, but I’m just sayin’.

Up Tomorrow: Jack Fruit “Crab” Cakes with Peanut, Cabbage and Radish Slaw

Leave a Reply

