Home

tofuscramI can’t help but look back at my novice vegan self referring to the tofu scramble recipe in Vegan with a Vengeance as if my life depended on it as I measured everything before throwing it in the pan in the exact order that Lady Isa lays out in the recipe. Not that the outcome was not a to-die-for scramble, it’s just not necessary. Tofu was meant to be scrambled, as I heard someone say the other day, and it’s going to get that way one or another. Normally I link to the recipe that I used for the food-tography included in the post but you’re better than that, Beyond the Cuke readers! You don’t need a recipe for tofu scramble because each of us has the ability to make tofu scramble inside of our vegan souls. All you need is tofu and turmeric and then just start grabbing things and cooking like the chef in The Little Mermaid and I promise you’ll get there. I have faith in you. On a side note, do add a sliced avocado on top of your masterpiece because it’s pretty and how could you not use an avocado in any context where it’s possible to use an avocado?

I’m not going to deny you any recipes in this post just because I think you should rely on your innate ability to tofu scramble. Also, what’s a tofu scramble without a delicious biscuit? Well, it’s still good but I was extremely impressed with this vegan biscuit recipe and I couldn’t think of another transition so there. I do the same substitution that Jewish Vegan does for the self-rising flour and I use this “buttermilk” recipe, I also use the top of a jar as a biscuit cutter but I don’t think that my industriousness necessarily contributes to the success of the recipe so use a real biscuit cutter if you have one. It will probably feel fancier that way.

One (delicious) way to eat a biscuit

One (delicious) way to eat a biscuit: Tofu with turmeric and nutritional yeast, Vegan pepper jack cheese and LightLife Sausage

Leave a Reply

